About Us

The Town of Hermon has a shared Community Policing Program with the Penobscot County Sheriff’s Office.  This agreement is based upon the Town’s desire to accomplish law enforcement needs without establishing what is known as a full-time municipal police department.

The Town of Hermon Public Safety Division consists of the following:

  • Staff-Sergeant Supervisor
  • Three Full-Time Deputy Sheriff’s
  • Nine Part-Time Deputy Sheriff’s

All full-time Deputy Sheriffs are certified academy graduates of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.  This academy program is known as the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program.  It is a demanding and challenging program consisting of 720 hours (18 weeks) of training located in Vasselboro, Maine.

All part-time Deputy Sheriffs are at a minimum, certified graduates of the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Program through the Maine Criminal Justice Academy.  A majority of the current part-time Deputies working in Hermon are previous graduates of the BLETP and are certified law enforcement officers.

All town Deputies are sworn Deputy Sheriff’s through the Penobscot County Sheriff’s Office.  They abide by the Policies of the Penobscot County Sheriff’s Office and the Town of Hermon.  They enforce criminal and motor vehicle statues of the State of Maine, as well as town ordinances within the Town of Hermon.